28.03.2024, 19:32 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
tdamocles
Titel: installation problem....help  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.10.2006, 14:00 Uhr

Anmeldung: 29. Okt 2006

I'm a total NOOB at linux so bear with me....I'm trying to install on a hp4150 laptop w/192mb, 6G HD. I've set up a swap and root partition but at between 10%-19% of installation it stops. Should I reburn an ISO from a different site? Any ideas would help. The MD5 checked out.....

Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
HK-47
Titel: RE: installation problem....help  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.10.2006, 14:25 Uhr

Anmeldung: 25. Jun 2006

welcome! since the md5 is ok, the first thing you should try is to burn another CD at around 8x or as slowly as you can. most problems with installation are caused by burn errors, and burning at lower speeds helps prevent that.

tdamocles
Titel: Re: RE: installation problem....help  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.10.2006, 14:27 Uhr

HK-47 hat folgendes geschrieben::
welcome! since the md5 is ok, the first thing you should try is to burn another CD at around 8x or as slowly as you can. most problems with installation are caused by burn errors, and burning at lower speeds helps prevent that.

I'll try that....I'm making a lot of coasters......

piper
Titel: RE: Re: RE: installation problem....help  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.10.2006, 14:52 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member

Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Welcome tdamocles ! Smilie

The most important part is to burn using DAO (Disc At Once). Kanotix uses high compression technology, special care is needed when burning the CD, use high quality CD-media [or DVD+RW] and not faster than 8x, if using Nero in windows use SAO