28.03.2024, 17:32 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
}{ERET|K
22 Titel: monitor problem  BeitragVerfasst am: 30.01.2007, 23:07 Uhr

Anmeldung: 30. Jan 2007

OK so I'm in a fix and I apologize in advance if this is the icorrect section I'm posting in for this. I'm new to Linux and am trying to make an honest effort at learning this operating system. Unfortunately I apparently know enough to be dangerous to my own machine. So I went to ATI's web site and downloaded and installed what I thought was the driver for my ATI Radeon X800 XL card. After installing the file I ended up rebooting the computer and it went through the normal boot menu asking if I wanted to boot into Linux or into windows. I selected Linux and it went as far as the commands coming up initializing the services and DHCP discover then the monitor just shut off like it was no longer getting signal.
I tried rebooting again and now it will just shut the monitor off during the boot process. I've been told to go in using my kanotix live CD and editing my initab file to boot into init 2 or 3 but kanotix keeps spitting the error out at me that I don't have permission to write to the file. I try to go into command line to act as root but for some reason when I try to cd into the drive it doesn't recognize the drive. according to mttab there is an entry for hdb2 but I can't get to the drive to use the chmod command. Any ideas on any of this from the how do I get to a command line without a live disk to what could be causing the monitor problem and what I should do about it? By the way before I forget this is Kanotix 64-bit that I fouled up. Thanks ahead of time for any ones help.

Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Crest